The best camera ever

is the one you use to make photographs. It’s a rather obvious thing to say, but having suffered from G.A.S. (and recovered) I know it’s not really that obvious. The internet forums and blogs has made G.A.S. an world wide infectious disease that has spread  like a zombie plague. Now legions of zombie gear heads chase “better” cameras and lenses instead of concentrating on making better photographs. But strangely enough, it looks like the female half of the population is largely immune to the virus. G.A.S. is a male thing. Of course, my favourite photographers are female. They are Sally Mann and Sarah Moon, by the way.

20160504_152125_resized

Self portrait as a zombie killer. 8×10″ ambrotype.

I’ll definitely side with the women against the zombie gear heads. Whether they aim their Canons with bazooka lenses at me from 300 meters away, or sneak up on me armed with stealthy Leica Ms with the red dots taped over and try to shoot me in a sidewalk cafe, I’ll be ready. I’ll be the last man standing, aiming carefully before I squeeze of each shoot. Yippikayee.

Leave a comment